November's Stunning Beaver Moon Is Going to Fill the Sky This Weekend

It's going to be spectacular, so don't miss it!

image
Getty

It seems like every month has a super moon (May has the , September has the ), but November's moon is considered extra special. Whether you call it or the Hunter's Moon, the bottom line is it'll be closer to Earth than usual, making it appear bigger and brighter. And it only happens once a year so you don't want to miss it.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

The moon will be located directly opposite of the sun and full at 5:23 a.m. UTC (Coordinated Universal Time) on Saturday, Nov. 4, 2017, which is 1:23 a.m. in New York (EDT), 12:23 a.m. in Chicago (CDT), 11:23 p.m. on Friday, November 3 in Salt Lake City (MDT), 10:23 p.m. in Phoenix and Los Angeles (MST & PDT) and 9:23 p.m. in Anchorage (AKDT).

But don't mark these times in your calendar just yet. When it's full, this moon is too bright and uncomfortable to view with the naked eye. That's why it's best to take a peek of it the night before, on November 3. If you time it right, it'll even look orange. How cool is that?

The Beaver Moon name comes from Native Americans and early colonists. They would take advantage of the moonlight to lay beaver traps in the rivers at night to help them secure furs they could wear to stay warm in the upcoming winter season. The Hunter's Moon name is similar, as the bright light made spying on prey at night easier.

But if you ask us, the name isn't what makes this sensation memorable — the color, appearance of size and brightness is what you'll remember. So don't forget to look out your window on November 3 to catch a glimpse.

WATCH: Drone Flies Over Wyoming During Solar Eclipse

(h/t )

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below
More From Travel
steroid.in.ua

У нашей организации важный портал , он описывает в статьях про поисковая раскрутка сайта в интернете.
Был найден мной популярный интернет-сайт , он описывает в статьях про Нандролон Фенилпропионат.